2018 D.C. Illini of the Year

Bob Work is an expert in the field of national security and defense, and a leading voice in defense strategy, operations, technology, and programming and budgeting.  He served under two Presidents and five Secretaries of Defense as the Deputy Secretary of Defense and as the Undersecretary of the Navy from 2009-2017.  

Prior to his government civilian service, Mr. Work served in the United States Marine Corps for 27 years, retiring as a Colonel. After his retirement, he was the Vice President and Director of Studies at the Center for Strategic and Budgetary Assessments (CSBA), and Chief Executive Officer of the Center for a New American Security (CNAS). In these roles, he wrote and spoke extensively about national security, defense strategy and transformation, revolutions in war, maritime affairs, and defense technologies.

Mr. Work was awarded the Department of Defense Medal for Distinguished Public Service, the National Intelligence Distinguished Public Service Medal, the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff Joint Distinguished Civilian Service Award, and the Distinguished Public Service Awards from the Departments of the Army. Air Force, and Navy.  Mr. Work earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Biology from the University of Illinois.  He holds a Masters in International Public Policy for the Johns Hopkins School of International Studies, a Masters in Science in Space Systems Operations form the Naval Postgraduate School, and a Masters in Systems Management from the University of Southern California.

Former DC Illini of the Year Award Recipients 

2017 Carl Vacketta

2016 Scott "Scooter" Altman 

2015 Dr. Francis Slakey

2014 Michael Jaworek 

2013 G. Robert Hillman 

2012 David Van Buren

2011 Mr. Stephen Moore 

2010 Dr. Evan Glazer

2009 Col. Charles E. McGee

2008 Rob Kennedy

2007 Edwin Adams

2006 Dan Balz

2005 Sheila C. Johnson

2004 John R. Dobrinsky

2003 Joe Urschel

2002 John W. McDonald

2001 Victor S. Kamber

2000 Lawrence J. Wilker

1999 Dr. Paul Peterson

1998 Gant and Fran Redmon

1997 Robert W. Doubek

1996 Roger Simon

1995 Eddie N. Williams

1994 James Brady

1993 Lynn Martin

1992 Bernard Shaw

1991 Wilma L. Vaught

1990 Harold R. Bruno

1989 Charles A. Bowsher

1988 Robert C. Mitchell

1987 Godfrey Sperling

1986 Robert Novak