Dr. Amy Kruse

2023 D.C. Illini of the Year


Dr. Amy Kruse is the General Partner and Chief Investment Officer of Satori Neuro, a stage-agnostic fund focused on mental health, neurotechnology, and human flourishing.  Amy leverages her decades of experience as a neuroscientist, her prior roles as an operator and a government program manager, and her network of key relationships to discover transformational companies addressing the largest mental health, brain health, and wellness challenges and opportunities.

Prior to leading Satori Neuro, Amy was a General Partner at Prime Movers Lab, where she led the fund’s life sciences investments in human augmentation and longevity.  She previously served as the Chief Scientific Officer of Optios, an applied neuroscience research organization that translates cutting-edge neuroscience discoveries into practical tools to enhance the human experience. 

Her early career was spent in the defense industry, culminating in her role as Vice President and Chief Technology Officer of Cubic Global Defense, where she oversaw the company’s research and development (R&D) programs. Amy joined Cubic through the acquisition of Intific, a small business focused on novel game-based solutions for the DoD and Intelligence Community. Amy served as a government civilian program manager at the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA), where she created and oversaw the Agency’s first performance-oriented neuroscience programs.  Her efforts at DARPA generated scientific breakthroughs in areas that include augmented cognition, accelerated learning, optimized imagery analysis, team neurodynamics, and neuromodulation. 

Amy earned a Bachelor of Science in Cell and Structural Biology and a PhD in Neuroscience from the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, where she was awarded a National Science Foundation Graduate Fellowship.

Former DC Illini of the Year Award Recipients 

2019 P. Scott Shear

2018 Robert O. Work

2017 Carl Vacketta

2016 Scott "Scooter" Altman 

2015 Dr. Francis Slakey

2014 Michael Jaworek 

2013 G. Robert Hillman 

2012 David Van Buren

2011 Mr. Stephen Moore 

2010 Dr. Evan Glazer

2009 Col. Charles E. McGee

2008 Rob Kennedy

2007 Edwin Adams

2006 Dan Balz

2005 Sheila C. Johnson

2004 John R. Dobrinsky

2003 Joe Urschel

2002 John W. McDonald

2001 Victor S. Kamber

2000 Lawrence J. Wilker

1999 Dr. Paul Peterson

1998 Gant and Fran Redmon

1997 Robert W. Doubek

1996 Roger Simon

1995 Eddie N. Williams

1994 James Brady

1993 Lynn Martin

1992 Bernard Shaw

1991 Wilma L. Vaught

1990 Harold R. Bruno

1989 Charles A. Bowsher

1988 Robert C. Mitchell

1987 Godfrey Sperling

1986 Robert Novak